Skip navigation
2731 Views 7 Replies Latest reply: Aug 15, 2012 9:10 AM by kkearney RSS
Jordan Phil Newbie 4 posts since
May 22, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

May 30, 2012 9:24 AM

Daily Reminder (ongoing events)

Hi I was taking a look at all the zen packs that are on the site but didn't have any luck finding what i was looking for.

I am looking for a ongoing critical events email. I love how zenoss sends you an email, mine is set up for critical events to be emailed to me. Zenoss only seems to email you when the event triggers. I am looking for an events ongoing zenpack. So every day at a certain time it sends me an email with all critical events or above.

Could anyone give me a starting point in coding this or if they know of a code avaliabe to please share?  I am not a coder but willing to take sometime to learn python to make this happen. Thanks

• dpetzel Rank: Brown Belt 1,141 posts since
    Oct 17, 2010
    2. Jun 19, 2012 8:49 PM (in response to Jordan Phil)
    Re: Daily Reminder (ongoing events)

This shouldnt to insanely complicated to write. I believe you should be able to leverage the JSON API and the Event router to fetch a list of open events.

• kkearney ZenossEmployee 118 posts since
    Sep 23, 2008
    3. Aug 13, 2012 9:56 PM (in response to Jordan Phil)

I will suggest that you find a report that looks close to what you want to have, copy + update it, and then use reportmail to send out the result.

kells

• jcurry ZenossMaster 1,021 posts since
    Apr 15, 2008
    4. Aug 14, 2012 1:56 AM (in response to kkearney)

Kells - can reportmail cope with a report where you need to provide input??  I was trying this idea yesterday with a report I have written but, rather like the standard Availability report, I need to provide selection criteria to determine the output of the report.

Any way to provide that in reportmail?

Many thanks,

Jane

Sep 23, 2008
    5. Aug 14, 2012 8:28 AM (in response to jcurry)

Jane! How's the Olympics treating you?