Skip navigation
2045 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Jun 20, 2012 9:41 AM by tsindle RSS
tsindle Newbie 6 posts since
Jun 12, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 15, 2012 9:12 AM

Ping/CheckPing/Fping graphs stop updating

Thank you for taking the time to read this. I am relatively new to Linux operating systems and network management systems, so please pardon my potential lack of common knowledge.

All Zenoss installs are built within VMs on a local server. They are allocated 20GB hard drive space, 1 or 2 cores at 2.00GHz, and 1-2GB of ram.

Various configurations are as follows:

Zenoss-3.2.1-x86_64.vmware (stock VM installation)

Centos 5.8-x86_64  with zenoss-stack-3.2.1-linux.bin stack install.

Across the two types of install, around 20 VM’s have been created and re-made over the past few months.

ZenPacks and additions

fping-3.1-1el5.rf.x86_64.rpm (installed in Linux so the ZenPack has a command to reference)

ZenPacks.BlakeDrager.fping-1.0.egg (had to remove the py2.4 for correct installation)

ZenPacks.Nagios.CheckPing-1.0.egg

ZenPacks.SCC.ShowGraphPortlet1.03.egg

Recently I also made a change to allow the alpha to be set within graph parameters (default puts Stacked at 0% transparency, and everything else at 50%).

I have experienced this issue with none of the ZenPacks installed, some of the ZenPacks installed, and all of the ZenPacks installed.

I am using Fping to track latency and packet loss across various Vlans or networks from different locations congruently. The idea is to use multiple Zenoss servers to monitor Default Gateways and the latency and packet loss between networks. I use CheckPing to give me a keep alive timer monitoring various IP’s. Theoretically Fping should be able to do both, but when devices go down it just leaves empty space in the graph.