Skip navigation
1 2 3 4 Previous Next 42326 Views 45 Replies Latest reply: Aug 24, 2010 1:09 PM by Adrian Bool RSS
Scott MacKenzie Rank: White Belt 18 posts since
Jul 22, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 23, 2010 8:56 AM

Devices "missing in action"?

Hello Everyone,

This is my first attempt at leveraging zenoss and I am still on the fence.  Therefore, I thought that I would ask for some advice...

Zenoss    = version 3.0

OS          = Ubuntu 10.04 LTS (up to date)

Zenoss was installed via apt-get and seemed to install just fine.

Post the installation and subsequent "discovery" and then moving devices around into appropriate /Device/ classes my devices have started to disappear.

The problem is that when I use "IE, FF, or Chrome" my devices which originally totaled 30 now only total 6 devices in the device view (http://10.20.30.202:8080/zport/dmd/itinfrastructure) BUT in the network view (http://10.20.30.202:8080/zport/dmd/networks) the proper number of device "30" show up with links that can take me to the actual device, BUT I can not see it in the devices view???.

So we have a number of missing devices???

I have followed the suggestion in the below article to:

• Run zendmd and do the following:
> reindex() 
> commit() 

http://www.sysadminwiki.net/wiki/index.php?title=Common_Zenoss_Errors_-_Post_Install

But, still no joy,,,  I have restarted the services (/etc/init.d/zenoss-stack restart) and even rebooted the box.  Again, no joy...

How can I manually refresh the database or rebuild it without having to delete the devices and start again - which would really, really, suck...

Thanks in advance.

suntzu

• Ian McCracken ZenossEmployee 257 posts since
    Feb 26, 2007
    1. Jul 23, 2010 11:29 AM (in response to Scott MacKenzie)
    Re: Devices "missing in action"?

That article's a bit inaccurate. Try running:

zencatalog run --createcatalog --forceindex